Master Fiddlers of County Antrim

Davy Rice and Denis Sweeney

Master Fiddlers CD


Davy Rice and Denis Sweeney started out playing together in the students' céilí band at teacher training college and later founded their own band and played together for years before their musical paths diverged. Denis stayed with céilí and taught fiddle, while Davy played with folk groups and built fiddles, but their mutual detailed study of the old recordings of Coleman and Gillespie probably influenced their style of playing to this day. Here are 10 tracks from each player, with an eclectic mix of music from Ireland, Scotland and Europe - a celebration of two master fiddlers from County Antrim.

1. Reels: The Star of Munster/ Miss McLeod’s - Davy Rice
2. Jigs: The Mist on the Meadow/Sixpenny Money - Davy Rice
3. Hornpipes: The Plains of Boyle/The Sunshine Hornpipe - Davy Rice
4. Jigs: The Tenpenny Bit/ A Health to the Ladies-Davy Rice
5. Air: ’Sé Fáth mo Bhuartha (The Cause of my Sorrow) - Davy Rice
6. Song Medley (vocals: Jackie Rice) - Davy Rice
7. Reels: The Barmaid/De’il Among the Tailors - Davy Rice
8. Set Dance: A Job of Journeywork - Davy Rice
9. Medley: Down by the Sally Gardens/The Hen’s March - Davy Rice
10. Reels: Teetotaler/Silver Spear/Mason’s Apron - Davy Rice
11. Airs: South Wind/Give me Your Hand - Denis Sweeney
12. Jigs: Up in the Morning Early/Connie O’Connell’s - Denis Sweeney
13. Two Fermanagh Waltzes - Denis Sweeney
14. Hornpipes: The Honeysuckle/Off to California - Denis Sweeney
15. Napoleon’s Grand March - Denis Sweeney
16. Air: The Coolin - Denis Sweeney
17. Two Kerry Polkas: Egan’s/ Ryan’s - Denis Sweeney
18. Swedish Medley: Walking Tune/Masquerade - Denis Sweeney
19. Jigs: Tobin’s Favourite/Visit to Ireland/Shandon Bells - Denis Sweeney
20. Reels: Jackie Coleman’s/Dick Gossip’s/Red-haired Lass - Denis Sweeney

Available by mail order from
Glens Music,
58 William Alexander Park,
N. Ireland, BT10 0LX

CD £10.00 GB including mailing worldwide.
We take direct payments by sterling cheque or use PayPal for free, secure on-line ordering.

This page last modified 19th August 2016GLENS MUSIC HOME NEXT RECORDING